An Introduction to the Chakras


The word chakra (chh aak rah) is translated as ‘wheel’ or ‘vortice’ and refers to psychic energy. While there are many chakras, the focus of this post will be on the seven main energy centers. These seven chakras are located between the pelvic floor and the crown of the head.

These energy centers can influence our actions, thoughts, behaviors and relationships. While the scope and magnitude of the chakras is expansive, this blog post offers a basic starting ground to recognize the influence of these vortices of energy in our daily life.


Mooladhara Chakra (Mool la dar)
We begin mooladhara, the first chakra in the Satyananda tradition, located in the area of the perineum.

As this is the energy center where one is almost totally concerned with obtaining personal security, take time to notice thoughts, actions and how much time and energy is spent and directed towards attaining security in the world.


Swadisthana Chakra (Swa dis than)
We continue to swadisthana, the second chakra in the Satyananda tradition, located at the base of the spine.

Swadisthana is the energy center that influences conscious and unconscious desires. How much time and energy is directed towards fulfilling desires? What thoughts and actions govern satisfying our desires?


Manipura Chakra (Money pour)
The next point of focus is manipura, the third chakra in the Satyananda tradition, located in the spine behind the navel.

Manipura is the energy center of dynamism, personal power, inner-strength and willpower. Do we use our personal power and strength in a positive or negative way?


Anahata Chakra (Unna hut)
We draw our awareness to anahata, the fourth chakra in the Satyananda tradition, located in the spine behind the breastbone.

Anahata is the energy center compassion and unconditional love for self and others. Take time to observe the many ways compassion, caring and loving without conditions shapes relationships.


Vishuddhi Chakra (Vish oody)
We continue to vishuddhi, the fifth chakra in the Satyananda tradition, located in the spine behind the throat pit.

As this is the center of purification and communication, notice the purity or impurity of speech and other forms of communication. And, how often do we speak our inner truth?


Ajna Chakra (Ug ya)
The sixth chakra, ajna, is located at the top of the spine and in the mid brain.

Ajna is the energy center of intuition. Recognize those moments of understanding something immediately, without the need for conscious reasoning.


Sahasrara Chakra (Sa ha srar)
We complete this practice with sahasrara chakra, located at the crown of the head.

Sahasrara is the energy center of totality, expanded awareness and of our highest potential. Can we experience something beyond the mind and be open to the oneness and greatness of all?


The more we can connect to and experience the influences of the chakras, the easier it is to integrate and embody the positive influences of the higher forces working within us.

Hari Om Tat Sat

© Copyright 2014 – All Elements Yoga – Gail Seckrettar

By | 2014-05-09T11:36:47+00:00 May 9th, 2014|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author: